Is it really such a big deal if you are a mother and you confess that you don't like cooking? It's not that I dislike it, it's just that there is so much I would like to do and so little time left in my day. Okay that was a lie, I actually dislike cooking a lot. But the only reason is because I would spend my whole day reading.
Don't get me wrong I love food! I watch cooking shows all the time, I buy cooking books every time I see one with a nice cover. I even read them, well I only look at the pictures, buy that still counts as reading doesn't it?
The only problem is that I started blogging, and then I thought I would try out this little thing called twitter. That's exactly where the trouble started. Now I am grabbing my phone every five minutes to check all the tweets on twitter (three days ago I would have said messages - see how educational twitter is?)
Don't get me wrong I love my husband and my kids very much. I know it's good for them to get food every day. But really, three times a day plus snacks! Okay so I eat with them, but wouldn't it be easier if we could all just grabbed what we wanted when we wanted? No I guess not, there is this little thing called bonding over mealtimes. I have no problem with the eating and bonding part, it's just the preparation that's so time consuming. That's why I know exactly how many paragraphs to read on my kindle before I turn over a flapjack or make scramble eggs. Tell me that's not inventive?
Another thing, have you noticed how quickly your food that took you a while to prepare seem to disappear in a few minutes? It's like magic - poof and it's gone. Your kitchen look like a war zone and within an hour my 16 year old will check in the freezer if there perhaps is something tasty to nibble on.
Oh well, as long as they leave me to blog once a day and to check my phone as much as I want, I will just keep on doing what I do best. I know that I'm not the best mother, I'm definitely not the best cook - but I do love my family and I know they love me back. So that's it, I don't have to feel guilty. I am who I am, and I sure like that woman in the mirror - it took me a while to get to this point where I can accept myself completely.
I can only try to be the best me everyday ;-)
No comments:
Post a Comment